Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05/07/15 - 8:08 a.m.

Sometimes I think it's not going to work unless I speak up. I was on jury duty, and looking back, it may well have been that I was the smartest person in the room. It's daunting -- being confronted with ordinary joes who don't really know what to make of this procedure, let alone the waves of evidence and conflicting arguments. That was the lawyer's job -- confuse the jury, present those conflicting arguments, of course -- but I could see right through the twists on the evidence.

And I did point things out to the other jurors -- to no effect. Maybe no one wants to admit they're wrong, to go back on their initial skepticism. Of course, people are always going to say, "Are you sure you weren't wrong?" But we jurors all agreed: sometimes you arrive at different conclusions. And it happens -- a "hung jury" is a real thing, because it happens all the time in the real world. I just didn't really get any satisfaction out in the real world when it was all done.

Actually, that's not true. I did contact the lawyer for the plaintiff -- who's considering retrying the case -- and gave him feedback about what the other jurors had said.

And I stopped all the other jurors from making the wrong decision.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!