Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1/05/03 - 10:23 p.m.

God, I don't want to go to work tomorrow. Why can't the entire month of January be a weekend?

You get spoiled by the Christmas holidays. Yes, I hate working! I'm under-employed, for one thing. Because - news flash -- no one's HIRING geeks any more! The internet is so 1999....

Most of my geek friends are travelling in Europe - or working as busboys, because they can't afford the rent in their geeky apartments. Everyone had a good laugh about the gen-X retards whose only skill was playing foozball and now it's their turn to SUFFER! Ah ha ha ha!

I can't really connect the dots and blame my crummy workplace on Saddam Hussein or Geoffrey Skilling. Hell, I feel kind of guilty even laying the blame for my personal situation on the bad economic news I hear on the car radio during my lousy commute home. It's kind of like a joke I heard on Futurama tonight.

"Bender, this has nothing to do with you."

"That's impossible!"

Yeah, I'm watching TV again. Truth is, it relaxes me. I think all this "character building" is, really, genuinely stressful. And just lying down and vegging out for an hour actually serves some useful physiological function.

I've been going back through old emails I sent in 1999, and thinking... I was happier back then, and I'm not sure why. Maybe life really was better back then. Or maybe I've matured so much, I just can't be reckless and carefree like I used to.

Things you think about on a Sunday night...

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!