Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4/04/02 - 2:07 a.m.

It's hard to procrastinate when there's nothing on TV.

Last night instead of going to bed, I had a burst of productivity that lasted from 11 p.m. until 1 a.m. Of course, this means it took me the entirety of Wednesday to get "in the mood."

And Thursday afternoon slipped away after I fell asleep in the chair by my heater and woke up four hours later. After which my mind felt even more numb.

Unfortunately, I'm supposed to be prepping for next week's contract gig -- and it's really harshing my mellow. Obviously, I prefer it when I'm just lounging around wasting time. Instead there's this weekend's vacation, and then the short-term project next week. And I've still got taxes to consider.

My mind's still numb. I feel like eating junk food. Mood-altering pick-me-ups. Did you know the main ingredient in yoghurt, after milk, is high fructose corn syrup?

Eats entire carton of yoghurt

E-yow! I'm flying!

Once the high fructose syrup hit my bloodstream, I became Mister Type A! I'm mailing reimbursement receipts to my health insurance provider, sending in the rent check, composing follow-up letters for recent job applications. And all at the same time. (The half-completed reimbursement form sat on my desk, as I suddenly remembered I hadn't sent the follow-up letter, and rushed to compose one before I forgot.) Woo! Woo! wooo.....

okay, i'm not sure when this wears off, but i better not push it. besides, I have one last phone call to make....

Later...

And so I exercised, made the phone call, and -- like last night, finally hit a burst of productivity sometime shortly before midnight. The afternoon-zapping nap at least gave me some brain-wave reserve to stay up past 2 a.m.

And Lady Friend sent me an email.

That's about all I have to say about today. Originally I started this entry to send a shout-out to the woman who mentioned me in her own diary. I don't really know what to say when I'm happy and other people aren't. I am out here, reading your entries, following the stories from your life, cheering and feeling and, in that peculiar internet way, sharing.

When a guy hears someone is feeling down, his first instinct is to try to think up the right thing to say to fix it up and make it better. If I were a smarter guy, I'd probably recognize that I can only do so much, and that this is all I have to offer.

I am out here, reading your entries, following the stories from your life, cheering and feeling and, in that peculiar internet way, sharing.

And sharing back.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!