Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01/05/17 - 8:44 p.m.

Someone said you're an adult when you can think for yourself, make decisions for yourself. Rudyard Kipling even argued "When you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you..." you'll be a man. I think for a lot of my life I skated by without becoming fully independent. Making progress on that now -- so much so that's it got me reevaluating comments on the web.

I've seen smackdowns in the comments on various web sites, and I think it works because people respond to strong authoritativeness. Maybe because they aren't thinking for themselves. (Are you sure your own opinion could stand up to someone else who's so forceful and firm in their convictions?)

Maybe I'm really just saying there's too many immature people on the web -- not just the ones making the comments, but the ones voting them up, or skulking away without making a counter-argument.

If so -- well, I learned something today.

Now I think I'll go re-read that poem by Rudyard Kipling.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!