Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10/11/12 - 11:02 p.m.

*sigh*.

What a day...

Makes me smile, to say it that way. I could even laugh, fondly, like an old man drinking a beer. Looking wistfully at a sunset and remembering golden memories...

There was a ton of crap I dealt with today. It sounds all positive when I say it that way. Sure didn't feel like it. Maybe that's part of the problem: I don't congratulate myself for the things I do well. I dealt with things as they came up -- even late last night, unexpectedly, and dragging on longer than I wanted it to. (I even put aside my good mood from the baseball games!)

I also listened to my body and didn't stay up too late -- and got back to work again in the morning. It's important to recognize that I did make progress this morning. But I guess it feels like nothing, because in the end I just "rolled back" my web site to where it was Wednesday afternoon. That's a kind of triumph too -- to the viewing public, everything's now perfect, and the way it should be, so I've fulfilled 100% of my duties. It's just, I spent so much of today telling myself it was important to press forward -- that it feels kind of weird to just say "No wait - never mind. Don't. Go back instead..."

A lot of my problems lie in the things that I say to myself. I mean, I know this, and I know today was an example of that. My issue now is how do I un-do that? How do I convince myself there's no threat, and nothing to be mad about -- that it was all just a crazy me getting spun up because I hadn't figured out an easier solution?

Man, I'm a piece of work..

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!