Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

09/23/12 - 3:10 p.m.

So, another fight with my girlfriend.

It's not as bad as it sounds. I only post here when I'm mad. But this one was about something really stupid...

She read a book. She liked it, and I didn't. So she started describing what she'd liked, by saying "It was like....well, there's this one scene..." And then she just describes - badly - a scene from the book.

I'm sitting there waiting for her to get to her point. But instead, she just goes on to another example of...whatever it is. "And then there's this other scene..." A scene that's an example of - this mystery something.

So I say, "Wait, what's the point?" This whole story is an example of something, but what?! I mean, if you have two examples in your head, and you ramble away about one without actually indicating what it's showing -- and then also start to ramble away about a second one...isn't it reasonable to ask?

She got angry that I didn't let her finish (with her second long, ramble-y example of...whatever it was). I stood my ground. Instant argument.

The real irony is that I was the one who recommended this book in the first place. I decide I didn't like it after a few chapters, but she insisted I read it all the way through to the end because there was this wonderful, wonderful ending. There's probably going to be some fall-out after this -- like we aren't ever going to read the same books ever again, so I'll never have to suffer through something that she liked but I didn't.

And then we can also avoid the risk of my having to listen to her reciting bad descriptions of things from the book I just read, willy-nilly, without any kind of purpose or point to the descriptions whatsoever.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!