Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01/24/12 - 2:49 p.m.

So I've figured something out. I was looking at a picture of the swimming pool from this summer. And I remembered how at the time, I'd tried to invest it with extra significance. Trying to make this new town feel like home - because I'd found a swimming pool (like the ones I'd used as a kid).

But there's another way of looking at it: as just another resource. For my adult self. As I'm choosing what I'll do with my time, I'd now also have the option of a swimming pool. It's not about a home -- since we're moving out of this town anyways. But does anything ever really need to be about home any more, in that someone-else-is-responsible-for-things way? Maybe I'm thinking that I should always feel like an adult now, with lots of choices and lots of resources.

Part of me worries that that's going to add a lot of decisions into every day; that I'll miss the simplicity of not having choices... I just hope I have the energy for all of them.

Which is why I needed to exercise -- in that swimming pool!

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!