Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01/29/11 - 12:09 a.m.

So at my apartment complex, they're trying to screw me.

Over a year ago, the property manager said if I signed the lease early, she'd update the start date to match the date that I moved in. Then she didn't do it, and a year later demanded "back rent" for those extra two weeks.

I'm not going to pay it without a fight - but it feels so unfair that I'm in this position. Still, right now I'm trying to convince myself to forgive her. Because it's kind of a stupid job, and she's young, and she always seems really busy and overworked. So I think it's possible she genuinely forgot to update the paperwork at that time.

Of course, right now I'm asking myself if she's really forgotten that she told me she'd update the lease - or if she's just acting like she's forgotten. (Which, obviously makes it harder to forgive her.) You'd get really angry if you thought she was just pretending to have forgotten, to try to back me into having to pay that money anyways. What I'm saying, I guess, is that I can forgive her for not updating the lease in the first place. But I actually don't know what she's up to now.

The real problem is that my first instinct is to trust people. And I sort of have to not do that here...

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!