Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11/20/09 - 11:04 p.m.

My girlfriend is crazy. It's like she's sitting on the railroad tracks, waiting for the train to hit her. This weekend her landlord is going to have a conversation about rent. Obviously the landlord is going to want some rent - and my girlfriend doesn't have it. So that's bad, right? It drives me absolutely bonkers that she isn't worried about this.

I always said that it wasn't a problem because I'd just move in with her and cover the rent if there was a problem. But it's still a problem - just to hear her not doing anything about it herself. That really, really bothers me.

It's like watching her sit on the railroad tracks...

And maybe it's my problem - because I'm getting too invested in her doing specific things. We had a conversation about this before, but it's like after all the last few months, we're right back where we started. I'm stressed about how messed up her life is. (And, I won't get an update on it until Sunday, after her conversation with the landlord.)

UPDATE: Okay, I gave this some more thought. Someone pointed out to me that she obviously is aware of all the problems. So it's not as weird as it seems; she is registering the situation. But she does get paralyzed sometimes. She really needs to be seeing a counselor...

My fear is that it'll come to a head too soon. The landlord will want rent, and she won't have it. And that'll force my hand. ("Guess I'll *have* to move in with her now, and right away...") But in theory she has another month left of stringing this out - either the landlord gives her another month, or she actually comes up with the rent money. (It's not out of the question; I think she might have some money now, and I also promised her $100 cash for Christmas, and she's owed $60 for some work she already did.) And, she could always try selling her TV...

But yeah, it's more drama. And the drama comes from her just not dealing with this stuff before it comes up. The pattern is ignore it as long as possible, and then deal with it at the last minute in the most stressful possible way. And then do nothing (because she's recuperating from all that stress.) And then she decides she likes doing nothing, and ignores everything else for as long as possible....

So, yeah, she needs counseling. And yeah, there's another round of drama building up.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!