Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03/16/06 - 10:58 p.m.

When I was a kid, my parents were trying very hard to act like good parents. They'd had their own unhappy childhoods. They seemed new to middle class life...

I made an interesting decision. I decided to let them. To play along.

All these years later, I'm angry - that they didn't recognize that I wasn't learning to take care of myself; that I wasn't learning independence.

Some days I feel depressed, and out of control. And I'm starting to realize that it goes back to that. There was a time when the world around me held everything I needed, without my doing anything. But now I'm expected to maintain that world, on my own - to find my own way to the things I need.

And I don't. I know that I won't recognize the need, and won't take steps to address it. So if it's going to come down to whatever I do...then it isn't going to happen at all.

No wonder I feel depressed and out of control.

Look who's driving...

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!