Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03/15/06 - 9:34 a.m.

I probably watched too much TV as a kid. Or, anyways, for the wrong reasons. We moved, my parents were weird - and I think I just hid in the programs. It distracted me - re-runs of gaudy sitcoms blaring out the background buzz of loneliness.

I thought of that last night. After a long project, a bottle of beer, and a sugar low, I decided to watch a movie. I'd seen the movie when I was a teenager - lots of color, and outdoor scenes.

But when it was over, I felt like I'd binged. Like an alcoholic's relapse. The worst part is the new things I care about - I walked away from them all to watch a movie.

How do you atone for that? Maybe you can't.

I looked it up on the web. For relapsing alcoholics, they advise:

Attempt to reduce the feeling that you are a hopeless total failure... One slip doesn't make a total failure.

Learn from this experience...

Remember why you are abstaining. Recommit yourself.

Practice handling the situation... Imagine handling similar situations well.

Do something good.

"Do something good?" Hmm. Maybe I should phone in sick to work, so I can do something productive.

Pick another - Previous - Next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!